Planning Budget and Operations Groups

Senior Budget Leaders

Reflect broad institutional perspective and all fund sources. Individuals provide input to the institutional budget process and decisions; make decisions and take action for their respective units; and communicate to their department chairs, directors and managers. After a collaborative and transparent process, the President’s final decisions will be communicated with the senior budget leaders group.

  • President, Wendy Wintersteen
  • Senior Vice Presidents, Pam Elliott Cain (Interim), Erin Baldwin (Interim), Jonathan Wickert
  • Academic Deans: Daniel Robison, Agriculture & Life Science; David Spalding ,Business; Luis Rico-Gutierrez, Design; Samuel W. Easterling, Engineering; Laura Jolly, Human Sciences; Beate Schmittmann, Liberal Arts & Sciences; Dan Grooms, Veterinary Medicine; William Graves, Graduate College; Hilary Seo (Interim), Library
  • Vice President for Research, Sarah Nusser
  • Vice President for Extension, John Lawrence
  • Director of the Ames Lab, Adam Schwartz
  • Vice President for Economic Development, David Spalding (Interim)
  • Interim Vice President for University Human Resources, Kristi Darr
  • Interim Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Kristen Constant
  • Vice President for Diversity & Inclusion, Reginald Stewart
  • Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management, Laura Doering
  • Director of Athletics, Jamie Pollard
  • President and CEO of the ISU Alumni Association, Jeffery Johnson
  • Executive Director for University Relations, Jacy Johnson (Interim)
  • University Counsel, Michael Norton
  • President and CEO of the ISU Foundation, Larissa Holtmyer-Jones
  • Assistant Director for ISU Dining, Stuart Essex
  • Assistant Vice President for Residence Halls, Peter Englin
  • Assistant Vice President for Student Health and Wellness, Erin Baldwin


Operations and Finance Colleagues

Support one of the senior budget leaders, represent a significant budgetary unit, or are a member of the Institutional Budget Management Team. This group includes broad campus representation to discuss current issues, such as, Workday, budget, financial matters, service delivery, policies and tax. Each representative is expected to gather input, advice and perspective from their units to share with the full group.
One primary role of the Operations and Finance Colleagues is to provide input on institutional budget development, including the structure, process, procedures and policies that guide annual budget development. In addition, the group will provide input about process and procedures in the areas of finance, budget, and other administrative operations, particularly when changes are being considered. Each person will provide insight, input and advice from their unit on a variety of topics, collect data as needed to advance projects, inform their senior budget leader as needed, and communicate with department level staff as appropriate.

  • Institutional Budget Management Team: Ellen Reints, Academic Affairs; Bonnie Whalen, Student Affairs; Tammy Michel, President’s Office; Jake Wilson, Ellen Rasmussen, and Brad Steward, Operations and Finance
  • Controller, Kathy Dobbs
  • Payroll, Benefits, & Tax, Tim Ashley
  • Finance Delivery, Kyle Briese, Karen Cline, & Jenni Winter
  • Facilities Planning & Management, Jody Danielson & Jennifer Grouwinkel
  • Specialty Business Services & Cultural Arts, Kate Neslon & Cheryl Ervin
  • Treasurer’s Office, Joan Piscitello & Tammy Hansen
  • Dean of Students Office, Tracy Borts
  • Student Health & Wellness, Sara Parris
  • Enrollment Management, Kristine Hackett
  • Recreation Services, Kristi Dillon
  • Memorial Union, John Lauridsen
  • Residence, Lynn Jones
  • Senior Vice President & Provost Office, Amber Miller
  • Information Technology Services, Rhonda Fiscus
  • Athletics budget director, Chris Jorgensen & Andrew Kautman
  • Ames Lab budget director, Steve Hamilton & Stephanie Gunderson
  • Academic Fiscal Officers: Josie Six, CALS; Soma Mitra, Business; Pam Boehm, Design; Michael Francom, Engineering; Benjamin Phillips, Human Sciences; Venita Currie, LAS; Renee Knosby, Vet Med; Lynette McBirnie-Sprecher, Graduate College; TBD, Extension; Brent Swanson, Library; Jeremy Neppl, VPR; Siti Sabtu-Schaper, Academic Affairs Administration


Institutional Budget Management Team

Represent all divisions within the institution. The team will outline the budget roadmap for budget planning, as well as obtain feedback regarding budget policies, proposed model changes, communications and shared responsibilities. With that feedback, the team will develop proposals for budget model modifications, as well as budget development processes, procedures and policies for discussion with Senior Budget Leaders.

  • President’s Office, Tammy Michel
  • Academic Affairs, Ellen Reints
  • Operations and Finance, Jake Wilson, Ellen Rasmussen, and Brad Steward
  • Student Affairs, Bonnie Whalen


Enrollment Research Team

Provide crucial projections on student enrollments using historical, current and trend data about admissions, student financial aid, retention, and graduation, with input from academic colleges, including the graduate college. Work collaboratively with the Institutional Budget Management Team to transform enrollment data into revenue estimates.

  • Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management, Laura Doering
  • Student Financial Aid, Greg Forbes
  • Office of the Registrar, Jonathan Compton and Jennifer Suchan
  • Office of Admissions, Katharine Suski


Share ideas or suggestions by emailing the Institutional Budget Management team,